Alumni Council Standing Committees

Standing committees  facilitate the mission and goals of Grinnell College and its Alumni Council. The specific work of the committees will be determined by the College staff and committee members.

Alumni Relations Committee
Works with the Alumni Relations team to encourage alumni activity and participation in College activities.

Members:  Lorrie Buchanan Alves '73 - chair,  Carl Adkins '59, Catherine Gillis '80, Dick Raridon '53, Rania Mohamed Robb '03, and Pam Dryden Rogacki '64 

Alumni Networks Committee
Helps build and maintain networks for prospective students, students, faculty, staff and alumni.

Members: Jon Richardson '10 - chair, Peter Calvert '79, Susan Henken-Thielen '80, Mark Henry '05, Angela Onwuachi-Willig '94, and Saurabh Saraf '05 

Communication Committee
Works with the Office of Development and Alumni Relations and the Office of Communication on communication and branding issues and encourages connecting alumni with the College through a variety of communication tools.

Members: James Decker '75 - chair, Alexia Brue '95, Cameo Carlson '93,  Barbara Hunt Moore '65, and  Sherman Willis '01 

Stewardship Committee
Partners with the Donor Relations area of the Office of Development and Alumni Relations to extend stewardship beyond the scope of office staff and to focus on timely and personal recognition of significant giving, development of compelling impact/outcome items, and crafting and administering programs that bolster volunteer stewardship.

Members: Ed Senn '79 - chair, Theretha Nelson-Littlejohn '70, Kirpal Singh '97, Bill Simmons '58, and Lara Szent-Gyorgyi '89


Ad Hoc and Annual committees are composed of members of the four standing committees. These committees serve to complete specific tasks that affect the entire council.

Awards Committee
Works to encourage nominations and select recipients of the annual Alumni Awards presented each year at Reunion.

Members: Mary Brooner '71 - chair, Barbara Hunt Moore '65 (Comm), Teretha Nelson-Littlejohn '70 (S), Angela Onwuachi-Willig '94 (NW), and Dick Raridon '53 (AR)  

Election and Membership Committee
Manages the elections of president-elect and new members of the Alumni Council. 

Members: Catherine Gillis '80 (AR), Susan Henken-Thielen '80 (NW), Bill Simmons '58 (S), and Sherman Willis '01 (Comm)

Executive Committee
The president, past president, president elect, and the chairs of the four standing committees of the Council shall constitute the Executive Committee. 

    • Members:

      • Nancy Schmulbach Maly '61 - President

      • Lorrie Buchanan Alves '73 - Alumni Relations Committee

      • Jon Richardson '10 - Alumni Networks Committee

      • Jim Decker '75 - Communication Committee

      • Ed Senn '79 - Stewardship Committee

      • Mary Brooner '71- Awards Committee

Return to the Alumni Council page.