Alumni Awards

2015 Alumni Award Recipients

Diane F. Alters '71Alison N. Beckman '96Micheal (Mick) W. Hager '65Marilyn McCool Hampton ’44Jean M. Kummerow '71

Thomas K. Marshall '55Paul H. Patterson, Jr. '65Sam Perlman '90Nancy Norris Ross '56Roberta (Bobette) Brown Sanders ’45

(Click on the photos for details about each Alumni Award recipient.)

Alumni Awards are presented each year during Alumni Assembly over Reunion Weekend. For a slideshow of this year's presentation of Alumni Awards, visit the Reunion Weekend and Alumni College 2015 Archives page. 

In June 2016, the Grinnell College Alumni Council will recognize deserving alumni from classes invited to attend the 137th Annual Alumni Reunion

The Award is presented to those alumni who best exemplify the Grinnell spirit by:

  • their service to the College,
  • their professional accomplishment,
  • and/or their community service. 

§ Click here for the online Alumni Awards nomination form.*
(Alumni Awards are accepted August 1-July 1 every year.)

§ Nominations can be submitted during any year, not just during your Reunion year. Nominations received will be kept until the nominee's next Reunion, and will be available for the selection committee for two consecutive Reunion cycles in which the nominee is eligible for an award. If you would like to update a previously submitted nomniation, please call the Office of Development and Alumni Relations at (866) 850-1846 (toll-free), or email us at

§ Current trustees and current Alumni Council members are not eligible for an Alumni Award. Nominations for alumni from non-reunion classes will be accepted but held until the appropriate Reunion year. Alumni who have received a Pioneer Award in the past are not eligible for an Alumni Award.


§ 2014 Alumni Award Recipients

§ 2013 Alumni Award Recipients

§ 2012 Alumni Award Recipients
§ All Previous Alumni Award Recipients (PDF) (Updated June 4, 2015)

The Alumni Council each year honors two seniors who have distinguished themselves through their donations of time and talent to the College, community, and fellow students.
Read more information and complete our online nomination form. (Not currently available.)

Return to the Reunion and Alumni College page.